Galloway Diocese Facebook circle blue large

Bishop Emeritus John Cunningham (bishop 2004-2014)

Born at Paisley, 22nd February, 1938.

Ordained Priest at Paisley on 29th June 1961

Officialis, Scottish National Tribunal, 1986-92

Vicar General, Diocese of Paisley, 1997-2004

Prelate of Honour, 1999

Nominated Bishop of Galloway, 7th April 2004

Ordained by Keith Patrick O'Brien, Cardinal Archbishop of Saint Andrew's and Edinburgh, at Ayr, 28th May 2004.

Resignation accepted by Pope Francis on 22nd November 2014, upon having reached the age limit.



Bishop Emeritus Maurice Taylor (bishop 1981-2004)

Born in Hamilton, Lanarkshire, on 5th May 1926.  

Ordained a priest in Rome on 2nd July, 1950.

He was appointed to the staff of Saint Peter’s College, Cardross in August 1955.  

From 1965 until 1974 he was rector of the Royal Scots College, Valladolid, Spain.  

He was ordained Bishop of Galloway by the late Cardinal Gray at an open-air Mass at Fatima House, Coodham on 9th June1981.

Bishop Taylor is vice-president of the Catholic Institute for International Relations (now Progressio) (London).

For more than ten years he was a member of the Episcopal Board of the International Commission on English in the Liturgy (ICEL), representing Scotland on that body.   From 1997 until 2002 he was chairman of ICEL.

Bishop Taylor is now retired in Ayr.  The Bishop emeritus' personal website is at



Bishop Joseph Michael McGee (bishop 1952-1981)

Bishop Joseph Michael McGee: born Monzievaird and Strowan, Perthshire, 13th December 1904; priest Valladolid, 25th May 1929; nominated bishop of Galloway, 19th July 1952 and consecrated at Dumfries 11th November 1952; resigned, 4th April 1981; died Prestwick, 5th March 1983.



Bishop William Henry Mellon (coadjutor 1935-1943; bishop 1943-1952)

Bishop Willam Henry Mellon: born Edinburgh, 6th January 1877; priest, Rome, 29th March 1902, nominated titular bishop of Daulia and coadjutor bishop of Galloway, 21st August 1935, and consecrated at Edinburgh, 28th October 1935; succeeded to Galloway, 24th December 1943, died Dumfries, 2nd February 1952.



Bishop James William McCarthy (bishop 1914-1943)

Bishop James William McCarthy: born at Newcastle-on-Tyne, England, 30th January 1853; priest, Glasgow, 4th May 1879; nominated bishop of Galloway, 25th May 1914, and consecrated at Dumfries, 9th June 1914; died Dumfries, 24th December 1943.



Bishop William Turner (bishop 1893-1914)

Bishop William Turner born Aberdeen, 12th December 1844; priest, Rome 26th April 1868; nominated bishop of Galloway, 16th June 1893, and consecrated at Dumfries, 25th July 1893; died Dumfries, 19th January 1914.



Bishop John McLachlan (bishop 1878-1893)

Bishop John McLachlan: born at Glasgow, 7th September 1826; priest, Rome 16th March 1850; nominated bishop of Galloway, 22nd March 1878, and consecrated at Glasgow, 23rd May 1878; died Dumfries, 16th January 1893.

Previous Bishops

John Cunningham Maurice Taylor